So, in an earlier post, I said I would post what I had written down before I created this blog. I will do so, now. Afterwards, a telling of how my day today went, and an interesting conversation I had with my sister-in-law and my good friend.
May 28, 2008
This is just a little letter to put down some thoughts I have been having lately, and maybe to prepare for a coming blog. I don't know what will come of it, just as I don't know what will come of my thoughts. They are recorded here for entertainment and edification purposes. Let's see if it makes any sense.
Is it wrong to hate yourself? I am determined not to delete anything I write, once I put it down, barring only spelling mistakes and editing of sentences for clarification purposes.
It may not make sense, but it is my mind, and if you don't like it, you don't have to read it.
So, today, I read quite a bit of interesting material. I am an avid reader of Techdirt, and love most of what is coming out of there. I also read JTHM (Those of you who are fans will know, the rest will either search it or don't really need to know anyway). What astounds me is not that someone would write such filth, but why no one has done it before (of course, others have written things like this before, and it was quite well accepted). I love it, myself. Sometimes I feel like that. Sometimes.
There is a current debate raging on concerning gay marriage. I just want to go on record as saying I am against it, though not necessarily for the reason you may think. I may expound upon my reasons later, but that is not the purpose of this writing.
So, back to my question: Is it wrong to hate yourself? I can see no reason why it would be. You can hate other people and not harm them, so of course you should be able to hate yourself and not harm yourself. However, it is true that hating other people may not harm them, but it does harm you. So, does hating yourself hurt other people? Probably not. It probably hurts you as much as it would hurt if you hated someone else.
Remind me later to explain my theories involving a Higher Power and morality at large. Also, social contracts. That should be a lot of fun.
In any case, it is getting way late. I need to head off to bed with my lovely wife. That is, if I can make sure there are no spiders in or around the bed. Our daughter is being very irritating as well. It is driving us up the wall, but hey, gotta love her, right? I'll talk more later.
Beware claim Chuck Schumer's wife owns cleaning business hiring immigrants
in US illegally
-
Schumer's wife, Iris Weinshall, is the New York Public Library's chief
operating officer. There's no evidence she ever owned a cleaning company.
4 hours ago
No comments:
Post a Comment